Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Converse Soccer Defeated By Emmanuel

Converse Soccer Defeated By Emmanuel

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – The Converse College soccer team dropped a 4-0 contest to Emmanuel on Saturday evening at Hayden Abney Fulp Field. Emmanuel scored all four of its goals in the opening 45 and used a solid defensive effort to take the Conference Carolinas win. 

Emmanuel 4, Converse 0                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      Records: Emmanuel (5-2, 3-1 CC), Converse (0-6, 0-4 CC)
Location: Hayden Abney Fulp Field, Spartanburg, S.C.


First Half

The initial 28-plus minutes was a defensive battle as both teams jostled for position at and around midfield. Emmanuel was able to fire off a few shots, but Darian Bankston was able to keep the contest scoreless with several saves. 

However, the Lions were able to break through in the 29th minute of action on an unassisted goal by Lochlain Corliss. That lead quickly doubled just two minutes later following a Hannah Logue goal, provided by an assist by Macy Linder. 

Emmanuel scored its third goal of the half on a questionable no-call. Viki Lederer appeared to be offisides, but the side judge's flag remained down and Lederer finished the play with a breakaway goal. Lederer posted her second score the of the half with one second remaining on the clock, sending the Lions into the locker room leading by four. 

Second Half

The second half was more of a defensive battle as neither team could produce anything on the plus side of the field. A.C. Albritton had the best opportunity to put the Valkyries on the board, but her shot at the 51:12 mark hit the crossbar and ricocheted out of danger. 

That would be the last real chance Converse was presented with and Emmanuel milked the clock on its way to the 4-0 win. 


Converse will host Shaw University on Thursday, October 3. That contest is scheduled to begin at 6 p.m.